Skip to Content

Livable Nashville Committee


The Livable Nashville Committee is working to develop a shared vision for protecting and enhancing Nashville’s livability and environmental quality. Community and stakeholder engagement through this Committee presents an opportunity to harness public interest in environmental leadership, and to initiate ambitious sustainability goals, policies, and projects.

Building off of their work under Mayor Megan Barry's administration and the accomplishments of Mayor Karl Dean’s 2009 Green Ribbon Committee, as well as the formally-adopted sustainability policies from Metro’s countywide General Plan NashvilleNext, their 2017 inaugural report recommends Nashville pursue goals and actions across five focus-areas: Climate and Energy, Green Buildings, Waste Reduction and Recycling, Mobility, and Natural Resources.

Through a series of plenary sessions, subcommittee meetings, and engagement with environmental experts, the Livable Nashville Committee will develop a new, prioritized list of ambitious goals and recommendations that reflect the Green Ribbon Committee’s work, NashvilleNext and other related plans, and the Mayor’s priorities. Throughout the Mayor’s term in office, the Committee will also reconvene to check in on progress and implementation.

The Livable Nashville Committee's Draft Recommendations were released for public comment in February 2017.


  • Natural Resources: Sets measurable goals and recommendations to improve our region’s air quality, prevent water pollution in our rivers and streams, and preserve open space.
  • Mobility: Sets measurable goals and recommendations to reduce the environmental impacts of the transportation sector, including greenhouse gas emissions and criteria air pollutants. Identifies opportunities to encourage low-carbon trip choices (walking, biking, transit).
  • Waste Reduction and Recycling: Works with the Metro Long-Term Zero Waste Master Plan to set measurable goals and recommendations to increase recycling and composting and reduce overall waste generated in Davidson County across municipal, residential, commercial, and industrial sectors.
  • Green Buildings: Sets measurable goals and recommendations to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, water use, and other environmental impacts generated by Nashville's buildings – including among Metro facilities, commercial, industrial, and residential properties.
  • Climate and Energy: Provided oversight for the 2016 update to Nashville’s greenhouse gas emissions inventory. Sets measurable goals and recommendations for Nashville and Metro to lower GHG emissions and energy consumption through gains in efficiencies and renewables.

Nashville is a signatory to the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy, the world’s largest cooperative effort among mayors and city officials to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, track progress, and prepare for the impacts of climate change. Nashville is also a member of the Rockefeller Foundations global network of 100 Resilient Cities.


Name Organization Title
Walker Mathews (Co-Chair) R.C. Mathews Contractor President
Beth Prichard Geer (Co-Chair) Office of former U.S. Vice President Al Gore Chief of Staff
Curt Stevens Louisiana Pacific CEO
Linda Breggin Environmental Law Institute and NRDC’s Nashville Food Waste Initiative Senior Attorney and Director of Southeast Environmental Programs
Anne Davis Community Volunteer (not applicable)
Gary Gaston Nashville Civic Design Center Executive Director
Mekayle Houghton Cumberland River Compact Executive Director
DeCosta Jenkins Nashville Electric Service President and CEO
Dodd Galbreath Lipscomb University Founding Director, Institute for Sustainable Practice
Janet Miller Colliers International CEO and Market Leader
David Briley Metro Government of Nashville and Davidson County Mayor
Liz Edsall McLaurin Land Trust for Tennessee President
Mike Pearigen Luna Law Group PLLC Attorney and Farmer
Greer Tildwell Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations Director of Environmental Management
Eric Kopstain Vanderbilt University Vice Chancellor for Administration
Tiffany Wilmot Wilmot Inc. President
Martin S. Brown Sr. Former Chairman of Jack Daniel's Retired
Nora Kern Walk/Bike Nashville Executive Director
Chris Ann Lunghino Community Sustainability USA, Inc. Founder / Consultant
John Esposito Warner Music Nashville President and CEO
Bob Martineau TN Dept. of Environment and Conservation (TDEC) Commissioner
Ryan Stanton Schneider Electric Smart Cities & Urban Infrastructure
Mark Deutschmann Village Real Estate Services, Core Development Services Founder
Todd Lawrence Urban Green Lab Executive Director
Pam Martin Cushion Employer Services President
Gini Pupo-Walker Conexion Americas Senior Director of Education Policy & Strategic Growth
Mary Anne Howland Ibis Communications Founder
Mary Vavra Barge Waggoner Sumner and Cannon, Inc. Urban Planner/Senior Landscape Architect
Robert Cheney Waste Management Waste Management Liaison
Holly Baird U.S. Green Building Council Tennessee Chapter Executive Director
Van Pinnock Fisk University Director of Corporate and Community Relations
Terry Cook The Nature Conservancy Tennessee State Director
Gavin Duke Page Duke Landscape Architects Principal
Eddie Davidson Piedmont Natural Gas Senior Manager, Government Relations
Jana Davis HCA SVP of Corporate Affairs
Vanessa Paz Las Paletas Manager
Bob Freeman Freeman Applegate Partners Principal
Steve Law Tennessee Parks & Greenways Foundation (TennGreen) Executive Director
Erin Coleman Yad Consulting LLC President