Skip to Content

Resolution RS2020-434

A resolution acknowledging the significant efforts of Teens For Equality.

WHEREAS, Jade Fuller, Nya Collins, Zee Thomas, Kennedy Green, Mikayla Smith, and Emma Rose Smith, aged 13- 16 years of age, formed and organized TEENS FOR EQUALITY to amplify the #BlackLivesMatter movement and the voices of Black teens, as well as to fight for the unheard, the unseen, and those that cannot speak for themselves; and

WHEREAS, Jade Fuller, Nya Collins, Zee Thomas, Kennedy Green, Mikayla Smith, and Emma Rose Smith met on social media after witnessing the peaceful “Let Me Breathe” #BlackLivesMatter rally on Saturday, May 30, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Zee Thomas had the idea to organize a youth protest and discussed with the others how to proceed. After researching the Fugitive Offenders Amendment Bill in Hong Kong, and the Florida and Atlanta (#BlackLivesMatter) protests to educate themselves and others about safety precautions, Nya Collins posted a simple post on Instagram inviting other Nashvillians to the protest. After clarifying it was a black youth led protest, #BlackLivesMatter supported the event and amplified the calls for others to join the protest; and

WHEREAS, Teens For Equality did not see a lot of youth at the Saturday, May 30th event, so they wanted to create a peaceful protest by young people to bring to light the protest of the deaths of Ahmaud Arbery, George Floyd and too many others. Teens For Equality anticipated approximately 800 people to attend on the afternoon of June 4, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Teens For Equality led a peaceful, well organized protest with an estimated 10,000 people marching through the streets of Nashville, Tennessee on Thursday, June 4, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Teens For Equality are continuing their efforts to create change for the future such as, but not limited to:

• Teaching Black History year-round in schools (not just in February)
• Representations of Black, Indigenous, People of Color and LGBTQIA+ people in curriculum in all Metro schools
• Reviewing non-binary male/female bathrooms to help all students feel safe in schools
• MNPS Unconscious Bias training for all employees and students; and

WHEREAS, through their outstanding and bold efforts, Teens For Equality became an inspiration to Nashvillians of all ages, ethnicities, and sexual orientation; and

WHEREAS, the Minority Caucus, the LGBTQ Caucus, and the Women’s Caucus of the Nashville Metropolitan Council hereby go on record as acknowledging this historic action in our city.


Section 1. The Metropolitan County Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the significant efforts of Teens For Equality.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Sharon Hurt, Nancy VanReece, Joy Styles, Tanaka Vercher, Sandra Sepulveda, Kyonzté Toombs, Zulfat Suara, Jennifer Gamble, Brandon Taylor, Zachary Young, Brett Withers, Emily Benedict, Russ Bradford, Kathleen Murphy, Courtney Johnston, Gloria Hausser, Ginny Welsch, Tonya Hancock, Angie Henderson, Freddie O'Connell, Dave Rosenberg, Jeff Syracuse, Thomas Cash, Colby Sledge, Burkley Allen

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedJuly 7, 2020

AdoptedJuly 7, 2020

ApprovedJuly 8, 2020

ByMayor Cooper's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 07/10/2020 2:35 PM