Skip to Content

Resolution RS2019-1747

A resolution recognizing the Boys & Girls Clubs of Tennessee’s 2019 Youth of the Year recipient, Tzipora Hunter-Davis.

WHEREAS, on March 28, 2019 Tzipora Hunter-Davis was named Youth of the Year by the Boys & Girls Clubs of Tennessee, representing the Middle Tennessee branch of the organization; and

WHEREAS, Tzipora is the first youth from the Middle Tennessee area to win this prestigious award; and

WHEREAS, 2019 marks the 72nd year of the Youth of the Year award and program; and

WHEREAS, the Youth of the Year title is a prestigious honor given to an exemplary young person in recognition of leadership, service, academic excellence, and dedication to living a healthy lifestyle; and

WHEREAS, the Youth of the Year program is a leadership development program that celebrates the remarkable lives of Boys & Girls Clubs of Middle Tennessee members who have distinguished themselves by rising above challenging circumstances; and

WHEREAS, established in 1947 through the generosity of the Reader’s Digest Foundation, the National Youth of the Year program has served as the primary vehicle for showcasing the achievements of Club youth; and

WHEREAS, Youth of the Year finalists are chosen from their Club locations based on moral character, community involvement, academic achievements, and obstacles that they have overcome; and

WHEREAS, Tzipora received a $5,000 educational scholarship from the Boys & Girls Clubs of America and a $10,000 scholarship from the Tennessee Titans; and

WHEREAS, she will then move on to compete for the Southeast Region Youth of the Year title, and an additional $40,000 college scholarship from the Boys & Girls Clubs of America; and

WHEREAS, Dan Jernigan, President & CEO of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Middle Tennessee said “Tzipora was nominated for her commitment to academic success, leadership, and being a role model to her peers”; and

WHEREAS, Tzipora is currently a senior at Martin Luther King Junior Magnet High School in Nashville, Tennessee, and is a member of the school’s National Honor Society, Black Achievers, tennis and wind ensemble teams, and participates in junior classical league; and

WHEREAS, at the Boys & Girls Club, Tzipora participates in the Keystone Club, a teen group dedicated to leadership and community service, and SMART Girls, a health, fitness, and self-esteem enhancement program for girls; and

WHEREAS, after graduation, Tzipora plans to attend the University of Memphis, majoring in Nursing, and is the first in her family to go to college; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council hereby recognizes Tzipora Hunter-Davis for her hard work, service, and academic achievements, and wishes her continued success in her future endeavors.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the Boys & Girls Clubs of Tennessee’s 2019 Youth of the Year recipient, Tzipora Hunter-Davis.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Tzipora Hunter-Davis.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Jacobia Dowell, Freddie O'Connell, Jeff Syracuse, Davette Blalock, Brett Withers, Jonathan Hall, Fabian Bedne, Kathleen Murphy, Mike Freeman, Sheri Weiner, Erica Gilmore, Burkley Allen, Anthony Davis, Steve Glover, Mina Johnson, Jeremy Elrod, Tanaka Vercher, Colby Sledge, Sharon Hurt

Related Documents

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedMay 21, 2019

AdoptedMay 21, 2019

ApprovedMay 22, 2019

ByMayor Briley's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 05/24/2019 6:03 PM