Skip to Content

Resolution RS2019-1651

A resolution recognizing March 18, 2019 as Transit Driver Appreciation Day.

WHEREAS, Transit Driver Appreciation Day is an event to celebrate the public service of public transit vehicle operators on March 18, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the first public transportation service in Nashville began in 1860 when the McGavock and Mt. Vernon Horse Railroad Company and the South Nashville Street Railroad Company were joined together to a create public transportation system using steam and mules to power rail cars; and

WHEREAS, the first electric streetcar in Nashville came in 1889 with the first buses in service at 1926 and in 1930 The Tennessee Electric Power Company took over the transit system and phased out the streetcars by February 1941; and

WHEREAS, Amalgamated Association of Street Electric Railway and Motor Coach Employees of America, affiliated with American Federation of Labor and Trades and Labor Congress of Canada was formed to represent the employees February the fifth of 1940; and

WHEREAS, by September of 1973, the transfer from private to public ownership was complete and the Metropolitan Transit Authority was officially chartered; and

WHEREAS, Nashville Metropolitan Transit known as of July 12th, 2018 as WeGo Public Transit; and

WHEREAS, Service types has grown to bus service, bus rapid transit, paratransit, park and ride with over fifty (55) routes with a fleet over two hundred (200) diesel, diesel-electric, electric vehicles servicing approximately 30,000 riders each day.

WHEREAS, Outside of Davidson County, WeGo collaborates with the Regional Transit Authority of Middle Tennessee (RTA) to provide express service to Franklin, Gallatin, Hendersonville, La Vergne, Smyrna, Murfreesboro, Spring Hill, Joelton and Springfield

WHEREAS, over four hundred (400) Public transit operators employed at WeGo Public Transit and represented by the Amalgamated Transit Union that successfully complete over ten (10) million passenger trips annually in a safe and efficient manner in Davidson County and Middle Tennessee.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing March 18, 2019 as Transit Driver Appreciation Day.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Anthony Davis, Freddie O'Connell, Burkley Allen, Mina Johnson

Related Documents

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedMarch 19, 2019

AdoptedMarch 19, 2019

ApprovedMarch 25, 2019

ByMayor Briley's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 03/25/2019 11:27 AM