Skip to Content

Resolution RS2018-1482

A resolution honoring the memory of those killed in the attack on the Tree of Life Congregation Synagogue in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, sending support from the Nashville Community, and calling for an end to hate-filled rhetoric, racism, and bigotry.

WHEREAS, on Saturday, October 27, 2018, a man entered the Tree of Life Congregation Synagogue in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and murdered eleven worshippers and wounded six others, motivated by apparent anti-Semitic hatred; and

WHEREAS, these eleven worshippers were massacred while attending religious services in what is likely the deadliest attack on the Jewish community in United States history; and

WHEREAS, those killed were Daniel Stein, 71; Joyce Feinberg, 75; Richard Gottfried, 65; Rose Mallinger, 97; Jerry Rabinowitz, 66; brothers Cecil Rosenthal, 59, and David Rosenthal 54; husband and wife Bernice Simon, 84 and Sylvan Simon, 86; Melvin Wax, 88; and Irving Younger, 69; and

WHEREAS, it has been determined that the perpetrator posted anti-Semitic and anti-migrant rants on social media prior to his acts of violence; and

WHEREAS, the Nashville community grieves alongside those in Pittsburgh, around the county, and across the world; and

WHEREAS, the Nashville community sends its heartfelt support to the families of those affected by this tragedy and the Jewish community in Pittsburgh; and

WHEREAS, this senseless attack took place at the end of a week in which bombs were mailed to politicians, a news organization, and two former presidents of the United States, as well as the murder of two African-American individuals in Kentucky, targeted solely on the basis of their race; and

WHEREAS, the Anti-Defamation League (ADL) has documented 1,986 incidents against Jewish people or institutions in 2017, representing a 57% increase over the previous year and the second highest number since the ADL began collecting data in 1979; and

WHEREAS, hate crimes have significantly increased in general over the past two years, with over 6,100 hate crime incident reports in 2017 -- up from 5,800 in 2016, with six in ten people targeted because of their race or ethnicity; and

WHEREAS, in 2016, the FBI reported that more than half of all hate crimes were motivated by race or ethnicity, with more than half of those hate crimes targeted at African Americans. Approximately twenty percent of hate crimes were prompted by religious bias, and one in six were victimized because of their sexual orientation; and

WHEREAS, 54% of religious hate crimes in the United States target Jews, while religious hate crimes against Muslims make up 25%. The number of hate crimes targeting lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people have also increased over the past year; and

WHEREAS, in recent years, there has been a palpable rise in divisive rhetoric, prompting attacks -- both veiled and explicit -- upon minority groups, including religious minorities, racial minorities, and the LGBT community; and

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council wholly condemns these acts of hatred in all forms, particularly the anti-Semitic hatred that fueled such a senseless attack upon the Tree of Life Congregation Synagogue; the Council sends healing comfort to the Pittsburgh Jewish community and all those affected; and the Council hereby renews its plea for peace, justice, tolerance, and understanding.


Section 1. That the Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as honoring the memory of those killed and injured in the attack on the Tree of Life Congregation Synagogue in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Metropolitan Council, on behalf of the Nashville community, hereby sends its heartfelt support to the Jewish community in Pittsburgh and all those affected by this senseless tragedy. Further, the Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as calling for an end to hate-filled rhetoric targeted at minority groups and an end to the evils of racism and bigotry.

Section 2. That this Resolution shall take effect from and after its passage, the welfare of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Sheri Weiner, Fabian Bedne, Nancy VanReece, Dave Rosenberg, Brett Withers, Bob Mendes, Russ Pulley, Mina Johnson, John Cooper, Sharon Hurt, Jonathan Hall, DeCosta Hastings, Brenda Haywood, Larry Hagar, Bill Pridemore, Robert Swope, Steve Glover, Jeff Syracuse, Mike Freeman, Colby Sledge, Davette Blalock, Scott Davis, Kevin Rhoten, Burkley Allen, Freddie O'Connell, Jeremy Elrod, Kathleen Murphy, Edward Kindall, Mary Carolyn Roberts, Antoniette Lee, Angie Henderson

Related Documents

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedNovember 6, 2018

AdoptedNovember 6, 2018

ApprovedNovember 13, 2018

ByMayor Briley's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 01/11/2019 12:05 PM