Skip to Content

Resolution RS2018-1416

A resolution recognizing September 15th through October 15th as Hispanic Heritage Month in Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee.

WHEREAS, September 15, 2018 through October 15, 2018 has been declared as Hispanic Heritage Month in honor of the role that Hispanics have played and continue to play in the economic, cultural, and social fabric of our nation. The observation of Hispanic contributions first began in 1968 as “Hispanic Heritage Week” under President Lyndon Johnson. It was later expanded in 1988 by President Ronald Reagan to cover the 30-day period from September 15 to October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988 upon adoption of Public Law 100-402; and

WHEREAS, Hispanic people make up a significant portion of the labor force in Nashville as well as the United States, working as elected officials, CEOs, small business owners, entrepreneurs, and homemakers who provide leadership, guidance, and support for the values which strengthen our local and national economies; and

WHEREAS, Hispanics of many nationalities in Nashville provide unique leadership skills and serve as exceptional role models in all professions, distinguishing themselves as smart and effective business owners who create jobs, pay wages, and serve as a positive force throughout our communities and neighborhoods; and

WHEREAS, Hispanic business owners, despite many risks and personal sacrifices, continue to serve as inspirations to their families, employees, and to the community at large; and their successes provide inspiring stories for all to emulate; and

WHEREAS, when Hispanics succeed, so too does our city, our state, and our nation. Therefore, the potential of all Hispanics should be limited only by the breadth of their dreams.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing September 15th to October 15th as Hispanic Heritage Month in the city of Nashville to honor the many accomplishments and contributions of members of the Hispanic community, and to encourage all residents to celebrate and support the people and businesses that make Nashville a unique and diverse City.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Fabian Bedne, Russ Pulley, Brett Withers, Jacobia Dowell, Mike Freeman, Mina Johnson, Freddie O'Connell, Davette Blalock, Nancy VanReece, Sharon Hurt, Dave Rosenberg, Jeff Syracuse, Tanaka Vercher, Bob Mendes, Mary Carolyn Roberts, Angie Henderson, Sheri Weiner, Robert Swope, Jason Potts, Colby Sledge, Jeremy Elrod

Related Documents

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedSeptember 18, 2018

AdoptedSeptember 18, 2018



Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 01/11/2019 11:59 AM