A resolution recognizing the North Nashville Flood Relief Group and volunteers that assisted North Nashville during the May 2, 2010, flood disaster.

WHEREAS, giving one’s time, talents and resources to help others in times of crisis has been an integral part of our American heritage, and during Nashville’s recent flooding catastrophe we continued this great tradition of people coming together to help during our community’s most critical hour; and

WHEREAS, thousands of individuals offered their help with various endeavors without expectation of any personal remuneration or recognition other than the satisfaction of knowing they helped others during their time of need; and

WHEREAS, the untiring work and dedication of volunteers like Harriet Vaughn, Laquita Summey, Ruby Baker, Beano Wallace, Avery Patton and The Dirty Dozen, Steve Roach, Damien Durr, Pastor Tucker, Alexis Smith, Pastor Harold Love, Pastor Darryl Drumwright, Bishop Maynard, Pastor Roderick Glatt, Bishop Walker, Sam Kirk, Kenard Laribo, Scott Wallace, Omaran Lee, Kim Vaughn, Kim Gold, Jenean Davis, The Knowles family, Jim Graves, Ken Jakes, The Untouchables, while certainly appreciated, too often goes without adequate recognition of the valuable contribution that is made; and

WHEREAS, these individuals helped lead the relief/recovery effort in North Nashville from day one by setting up relief stations on West Hamilton Ave, Crouch Dr, and LaGrange Dr; Opening makeshift disaster shelters at St. Paul A.M.E Church and Temple Church that ultimately provided food, clothing, medical care and shelter to over 500 misplaced individuals and families and served as a rallying point that people used to drop off food, water and clothing that was distributed throughout the North Nashville community; and

WHEREAS, North Nashville’s Beech Creek Missionary Baptist Church was one of the first institutions in Nashville to offer its facilities to be used as an official shelter, where literally thousands of flood victims were provided food, clothing, cleaning supplies and medical care; and

WHEREAS, Cathedral of Praise Church, Mt. Zion Baptist Church, Mt. Gilead Missionary Baptist Church, and numerous other faith-based congregations all provided food, relief supplies, and volunteers to help victims and restore the North Nashville Community; and

WHEREAS, the Youth About Business center has served as a venue to distribute a semi-tractor trailer full of donated food, clothing, and supplies from donors in East Tennessee; the location of the “Hope Floats” Flood Relief Fundraising Festival & Bar-B-Q; and most notably, has housed the recently established the North Nashville Flood Relief Group throughout the summer of 2010 at no charge, allowing this organization to continue to assist Flood Survivors in the recovery process; and

WHEREAS, volunteers are exemplified by individuals such as these, and although the efforts of many are recognized and honored here, our observation is not intended to ignore the efforts of those who worked without recognition, acclaim, or accolades. Our recognition of these people’s specific efforts extends beyond them and thus is also symbolic, therefore, of the efforts of the countless thousands who gave and continue to give tirelessly of themselves in the aftermath of the recent flood; and

WHEREAS, their spirit of volunteerism, remarkable compassion and self sacrifice is a tribute to Nashville and has helped ensure the recovery and revitalization of their community; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes the many selfless volunteers not only throughout North Nashville but the entire city of Nashville who truly gave those in need a helping hand.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the North Nashville Flood Relief Group and volunteers that assisted North Nashville during the May 2, 2010, flood disaster.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Lonnell Matthews, Jerry Maynard, Frank Harrison, Walter Hunt, Erica Gilmore, Edith Taylor Langster


Referred: Rules & Confirmations Committee 
Introduced: November 4, 2010
Adopted: November 4, 2010
Approved: November 5, 2010