A resolution to honor the Vanderbilt Women’s Tennis Team and Coach Geoff Macdonald on winning the 2015 NCAA Championship.

WHEREAS, The Vanderbilt Women’s Tennis Team under the leadership of Coach Geoff Macdonald has won the National Collegiate Athletic Association Championship for the first time in school history with an overall record of 25 wins and 6 losses; and

WHEREAS, The Commodores defeated defending champion U.C.L.A., 4-2, in the National finals after successive wins over Clemson, Florida and top-seeded U.S.C.; and

WHEREAS, The team also won its first Southeastern Conference Tournament Championship after posting a regular season SEC record of 11-2; and

WHEREAS, The team is composed of Francis Altick, Ashleigh Antal, Sydney Campbell, Marie Casares, Courtney Colton, Maggie Leavell, Payton Robinette, Georgina Sellyn, Astra Sharma, Ellie Yates and Coaches Geoff Macdonald, Aleke Tsoubanos, Emil Lankov and Lauren Mira; and

WHEREAS, The doubles team of senior, Ashleigh Antel and freshman, Astra Sharma earned All-American honors with a record of 19-4 and Sharma was recognized as the Most Valuable Player in both the NCAA and SEC Tournaments; and

WHEREAS, The following teams received honors on the All-NCAA Tournament Team: Marie Casares and Francis Altick in Doubles and Courtney Colton and Ashleigh Antel in Singles; and Sydney Campbell, the team’s No. 1, and Sharma, Colton, and Antel all played in the Individual and Doubles NCAA Championships; and

WHEREAS, Coach Geoff Macdonald, Vanderbilt’s longest tenured Coach has, in his 21 years, led the Commodores to three SEC Championship matches, 21 consecutive post-season appearances, including this year’s historic NCAA and SEC Championships, and has been justifiably honored with his second SEC Coach of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, The dedication, perseverance and commitment of these young women displayed on the court is matched by their excellence in the classroom, and will surely ensure their success in all their future endeavors.


Section 1. The Metropolitan County Council hereby goes on record as recognizing and congratulating the members of the 2014-15 Vanderbilt Women’s Tennis Team and Coach Geoff Macdonald and his staff on winning their first NCAA National Championship and the third overall Championship in school history.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this resolution to be presented to the 2014-15 Vanderbilt Women’s Tennis Team and to Coach Geoff Macdonald and his staff.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Ronnie Steine, Burkley Allen, Sandra Moore


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: July 7, 2015
Adopted: July 7, 2015
Approved: July 8, 2015
By: Mayor's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615/862-6770.