Davidson County Election Commission

May 13, 2021 6:00 p.m.

The Davidson County Election Commission (DCEC) met at 6:00 p.m. in the Green Hills Conference Room at Metro Southeast. Commissioners Jim DeLanis, Ross Evans, Tricia Herzfeld, Dan Davis, and A. J. Starling were present.

DCEC staff members present included Administrator of Elections (AOE) Jeff Roberts, Joan Nixon, Courtney Mott, Lisa Pierce, Bobby Medley and Kelley Harrison. Lora Fox of the Metropolitan Department of Law, Professor Jim Blumstein and Austin McMullen were present.

Jim DeLanis convened the meeting.

Approve minutes from May 10, 2021 meeting

Motion stated: Commissioner Starling made a motion to approve the minutes with suggested changes by Commissioner Herzfeld and Chairman DeLanis. **Seconded by**: Commissioner Herzfeld **Outcome of motion**: Passed unanimously

Discussion and possible vote to place Council Resolution 2021-837 before voters

Chairman DeLanis opened the floor to Professor Blumstein to address Council Resolution 2021-837. Professor Blumstein and Austin McMullen made a presentation to the Commission. Discussion ensued.

Motion stated: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to approve the resolution submitted by the Metro Council to be placed on the ballot.

Seconded by: Commissioner Starling

Outcome of motion: Failed with 2 - 3 vote

Commissioner Davis – no Commissioner Evans - no Chairman DeLanis – no Commissioner Herzfeld - yes Commissioner Starling - yes

Motion stated: Chairman DeLanis made a motion to direct our attorneys to seek declaration in the existing litigation against us concerning Metro Resolution 2021-837 in order to defend the Commission's authority, and to provide the voter a clear and understandable ballot, and we request Metro and the Metro Council to revise Resolution 2021-837 to make it clear and understandable.

Seconded by: Commissioner Evans

Outcome of motion: Passed with 3 - 2 vote Commissioner Davis – yes Commissioner Evans – yes Chairman DeLanis – yes

Commissioner Herzfeld - no Commissioner Starling - no

Approve Early Voting schedule and locations for July 27 referendum

Motion stated: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to approve the Early Voting schedule below as presented.

Seconded by: Commissioner Davis Outcome of motion: Passed unanimously



EARLY VOTING SCHEDULE Charter Amendments Referendum Tuesday, July 27, 2021

ONLY HOWARD OFFICE BUILDING OPEN

700 2nd Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37210

WEDNESDAY, JULY 7, 2021 – WEDNESDAY, JULY 14, 2021

WEDNESDAY, JULY 7 THURSDAY, JULY 8 FRIDAY, JULY 9 SATURDAY, JULY 10

MONDAY, JULY 12 TUESDAY, JULY 13 WEDNESDAY, JULY 14 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

ALL EARLY VOTING LOCATIONS OPEN

THURSDAY, JULY 15, 2021 – THURSDAY, JULY 22, 2021

THURSDAY, JULY 15	8:00 AM – 7:00 PM
FRIDAY, JULY 16	8:00 AM – 5:30 PM
SATURDAY, JULY 17	8:00 AM – 4:30 PM
MONDAY, JULY 19	8:00 AM – 5:30 PM
TUESDAY, JULY 20	8:00 AM – 7:00 PM
WEDNESDAY, JULY 21	8:00 AM – 4:30 PM
THURSDAY, JULY 22	8:00 AM – 7:00 PM
Ster 11-11	4705 Handing Dilys Nashvilla TN 27205

Belle Meade City Hall Bellevue Library Bordeaux Library Casa Azafrán Community Center Edmondson Pike Library 4705 Harding Pike, Nashville, TN 37205 720 Baugh Road, Nashville, TN 37221 4000 Clarksville Pike, Nashville, TN 37218 2195 Nolensville Pike, Nashville, TN 37211 5501 Edmondson Pike, Nashville, TN 37211 Goodlettsville Community Center Green Hills Library Hermitage Library Howard Office Building Madison Library Margaret Maddox East YMCA Southeast Library 200 Memorial Drive, Goodlettsville, TN 37072 3701 Benham Avenue, Nashville,37215 3700 James Kay Lane, Hermitage, TN 37076 700 2nd Avenue S, Nashville, TN 37210 610 Gallatin Pike S, Madison, TN 37115 2624 Gallatin Pike, Nashville, TN 37216 5260 Hickory Hollow Pkwy, Antioch, TN 37013

DAVIDSON COUNTY ELECTION COMMISSION | 1417 MURFREESBORO PIKE, NASHVILLE, TN 37217 | 615-862-8800 | <u>WWW.NASHVILLE.GOV/VOTE</u>

Approve Poll Officials for July 27 referendum

Motion stated: Commissioner Starling made a motion to approve all active Poll Officials to be used in their needed capacity. Seconded by: Commissioner Herzfeld Outcome of motion: Passed unanimously

Schedule locking of provisional bags/boxes and absentee bins

June 1, 2021 8:00 a.m.

AOE Report Preparing for July 27 referendum election

Public Comment Nicole Williams Councilman Bob Mendes Jim Garrett

Set date and time for next meeting

Call of the Chair

<u>Adjourn</u>

With no further election business to discuss, Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to adjourn. **Seconded by**: Commissioner Evans **Outcome of motion**: Passed unanimously

Tricia Herzfeld, Secretary