Special Bombing Review Commission June 29, 2021 Meeting Howard Office Building, 700 2nd Avenue South Sonny West Conference Room Nashville, Tennessee 37210

June 29, 2021 at 10:00am CT

MINUTES

Chairman Paul Summers CM Jaime Hollin CM Jennifer Gamble LeShuan Oliver Brenda Sanderson Darrel Talbert Attorney Ramsey Margie Quin

Absent: Mario Avilla, Andres Martinez

- 1. Call to order and welcome Chairman Paul Summers @ 10:02 a.m.
- 2. Invocation Chairman Summers
- 3. Pledge of allegiance Members

Chairman summarized the paperwork handed to members:

- 1. Special Bombing Review Commission Committees (Criminal Investigation Committee) (Bombing and Responses Committee) (Lessons Learned Committee);
- 2. Bill Ordinance BL2021-612
- 3. Email from CM Bob Mendes
- Chairman Summers suggested that the Bombing and Response Committee and Criminal Investigation Committee prepare a summary report to the Commission by November 2021; Lessons Learned Committee should take the work of the first two committees and write a proposal for lessons learned so that the act isn't repeated in Nashville.
- Chairman Summers reviewed the meeting agenda and future meeting dates and responsibilities.
- Commission members should choose a committee that they could add value to and submit that request to the Chairman.
- CM Gamble/ Talbert seconded a motion that Chairman Summers take requests for committee and assign members and appoint a chairman of each committee – unanimous vote.

- 4. Approval of agenda Members
- 5. Approval of minutes of May 2021 meeting Members
 - Sanderson moved/CM Gamble seconded passed unanimous vote
- 6. Welcome and introduction of guests Chairman Summers
 - Secretary Quin reported on the SharePoint site and calendar invites for the committee meetings.
- 7. Report from Chief William Swann or staff with timelines/AARs of responding agencies
 - Fire Department has completed their AAR and the video was completed and will be shown at July meeting.
- 8. Report from Councilmember Jennifer Gamble on MNPD report (2019 Christmas 2020)
 - CM Gamble summarized the AAR completed by MNPD and other agencies regarding the initial complaint and bombing December 25.
 - The AAR committee was comprised of the following members:
 - 1. MNPD Deputy Chief Dwayne Greene
 - 2. Attorney and Professional Standards Division head Kathy Morante
 - 3. Former U.S. Attorney Ed Yarbrough
 - 4. COB ED Jill Ficheard
 - 5. CM Jennifer Gamble
 - The Report from CM Gamble is attached to these Commission Meeting Minutes as Exhibit 1.
 - Chairman Summers asked for the AAR's of FBI, ATF and TBI regarding the investigation into Warner and the conclusion that he acted alone.
 - Secretary Quin to invite TFC/TBI to make a presentation to the Commission on Value Add for MNPD to collaborate more closely with the TFC.
 - CM Gamble presented the RS2021-999 which establishes a MOU between MNPD, ATF, TBI and MNAETF. Attached as Exhibit 2.
- 9. Discussion of BL2021-612 (Resolution creating SBRC) and its directives
 - BL2021-612 attached to the minutes as Exhibit 3.
- 10. Proposal for sharing the workload and commission responsibilities Members

• Chairman Summers again addressed the allocation of work for the Commission and suggested due dates for the final report – March 2022.

10. Set date of next meeting – July 27, 2021 @ 10 a.m. Sonny West Conference Room, Howard Office Building

11. Adjourn - Chairman Summers Adjourned @ 10:55 a.m.

Approved: <u>Signature on File</u> Paul G. Summers, Chairman

Date: Emailed to members and colleagues June 2021 prior to meeting