METROPOLITAN CHARTER REVISION COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

May 4, 2015

-----∞∞∞------

The Metropolitan Charter Revision Commission met on May 4, 2015 at 5:00 pm in Committee Room 2, 205 Metropolitan Courthouse, One Public Square, Nashville, TN 37201.

Present were all members of the Commission including Dewey Branstetter, Eileen Beehan, Hal Hardin, Susan Short Jones, Lorinda McLaughlin, David Wilson, and Jim Murphy.

The meeting was called to order at 5:05 p.m., and the first order of business was the election of officers. Upon motion by Jim Murphy, seconded by Susan Short Jones, the Commissioners voted unanimously to re-elect Dewey Branstetter as Chairman, Hal Hardin as Vice Chairman, and David Wilson as Secretary.

The next order of business was the approval of the minutes of the May 14, 2014 meeting. Upon motion by Mr. Murphy, seconded by Ms. Beehan, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the May 14, 2014 meeting, and to appoint Hal Hardin to draft an appropriate resolution in honor of Cecil Branstetter, as referenced in the minutes of the May 14, 2014 meeting.

The next order of business was the consideration of resolution RS2015-1433, a charter amendment proposed by Councilmen Ronnie Steine and Phil Claiborne, that would change the term limits for District Councilmen, Councilmen at Large, and Vice Mayor, from two terms to three terms effective in 2023. The public hearing was opened, and Councilman Ronnie Steine described what the proposed amendment would accomplish and why it would be effective in 2023. Councilman Phil

Claiborne also spoke in favor of this proposed charter amendment. There being no further individuals requesting to address the Commission, the public hearing was then closed.

The members of the Commission then discussed this proposed charter amendment, and upon motion by Mr. Murphy, seconded by Mr. Hardin, the Commission voted 7-0 in favor of recommending approval of this charter amendment.

There being no further business to come before the Commission, the meeting was duly adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ C. DEWEY BRANSTETTER, JR., CHAIRMAN

/s/ Elizabeth Waites, SECRETARY