# **Davidson County Election Commission**

# April 17, 2020 1:45 p.m. (Via teleconference)

The Davidson County Election Commission (DCEC) met at 1:45 p.m. via teleconference. All five (5) Commissioners: Chairman Emily Reynolds, Commissioner Jim DeLanis, Commissioner Jesse Neil, Commissioner AJ Starling and Commissioner Tricia Herzfeld were present (attendance noted via Roll Call by Kelley Harrison). DCEC staff members present (attendance noted verbally): Administrator of Elections (AOE) Jeff Roberts, Joan Nixon, Bobby Medley, Courtney Mott, Lisa Pierce, John Hite, Jeremy Greene and Kelley Harrison. Also, present (attendance noted verbally) was Nicki Eke of the Metropolitan Department of Law.

Chairman Reynolds convened the meeting.

Chairman Reynolds stated that as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, the Governor issued Executive Order No. 16, authorizing a commission to meet and conduct their essential business by electronic means if the commission determined that meeting electronically is necessary to protect the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans in light of the outbreak. Chairman Reynolds called for a motion to conduct the meeting electronically.

**Motion stated**: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion that the business of the Commission, identified on its agenda for the meeting, satisfied the criteria necessary for the DCEC Commission to conduct essential via conference call, pursuant to Executive Order No. 16.

Seconded by: Commissioner Neil

Outcome of motion: Votes taken via roll call: Passed unanimously

Chairman Reynolds – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Commissioner DeLanis – Yes Commissioner Herzfeld – Yes

#### Approve minutes from April 9, 2020 (teleconference) meeting

Motion stated: Commissioner Starling made a motion to approve the minutes from April 9, 2020

(teleconference) meeting as presented. **Seconded by**: Commissioner Neil

Outcome of motion: Votes taken via roll call: Passed unanimously

Chairman Reynolds – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Commissioner DeLanis – Yes Commissioner Herzfeld – Yes

### Approve ballot for August 6, 2020 Election

The August 6, 2020 election ballot was revisited for potential changes that were still in motion. Bobby Medley described there are 4 (four) ballot styles: Republican, Democratic, General (only) and Oak Hill. **Motion stated**: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to approve the August 6, 2020 election ballot.

Seconded by: Commissioner Neil

**Outcome of motion**: Votes taken via roll call: Passed unanimously

Chairman Reynolds – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Commissioner DeLanis – Yes Commissioner Herzfeld – Yes

## Discuss expanded Early Voting options for August 6, 2020 Election

AOE Roberts presented the Commission with an option of expanding the early voting schedule by opening all early voting locations for the full early voting period giving the best opportunity to meet the CDC guidelines for Social Distancing.

The previous approved early voting schedule showed Howard Office Building opened for the full early voting period and the other ten (10) locations opened for seven (7) days.

Discussion ensued.

**Motion stated**: Commissioner Starling made a motion to approve the expansion of the early voting schedule as presented.

Seconded by: Commissioner Neil

Outcome of motion: Votes taken via roll call: Passed unanimously

Chairman Reynolds – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Commissioner DeLanis – Yes Commissioner Herzfeld – Yes

#### **AOE Report**

- Email from State Coordinator, Mark Goins, discussing PPE supplies
- Absentee ballot request on website (fillable form)
- Poll Official training online
- Goal to make interaction with voting equipment touchless
- Having voters use hand sanitizer upon entering and leaving polling locations
- Interview poll officials electronically
- Utilize Metro HR to notify Metro employees about being poll officials
- Additional poll workers will be needed to assist in Absentee Department
- Mail tips to voting during Covid-19 pandemic in early May
- Prison voting done by Absentee voting
- May 8- First day we can receive Absentee ballot requests
- In order to maintain Social Distancing, a limited number of people will be allowed inside each polling location

## **Public Comment**

Dick Williams Debby Gould Cathy Carlson

### Set date and time for next meeting

May 1, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. (via teleconference)

## <u>Adjourn</u>

With no further election business to discuss, Commissioner DeLanis made a motion to adjourn the meeting.

**Seconded by**: Commissioner Neil

Outcome of motion: Votes taken via roll call: Passed unanimously

Chairman Reynolds – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Commissioner DeLanis – Yes

Commissioner Herzfeld – (Had to leave meeting)

Tricia Herzfeld (Secretary)