Davidson County Election Commission

June 5, 2020 10:00 a.m. (Via teleconference)

The Davidson County Election Commission (DCEC) met at 10:00 a.m. via teleconference. All five (5) Commissioners: Chairman Emily Reynolds, Commissioner Jim DeLanis, Commissioner Jesse Neil, Commissioner AJ Starling and Commissioner Tricia Herzfeld were present (attendance noted via Roll Call by Kelley Harrison). DCEC staff members present: Administrator of Elections (AOE) Jeff Roberts, Joan Nixon, Courtney Mott, Lisa Pierce, John Hite and Kelley Harrison. Also, present (attendance noted verbally) was Nicki Eke of the Metropolitan Department of Law.

Chairman Reynolds convened the meeting.

Chairman Reynolds stated that as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, the Governor issued Executive Order No. 16, authorizing a commission to meet and conduct their essential business by electronic means if the commission determined that meeting electronically is necessary to protect the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans in light of the outbreak. Chairman Reynolds called for a motion to conduct the meeting electronically.

Motion stated: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion that the business of the Commission, identified on its agenda for the meeting, satisfied the criteria necessary for the DCEC Commission to conduct essential business via conference call, pursuant to Executive Order No. 16. Seconded by: Commissioner Neil Outcome of motion: Passed Unanimously (Votes taken via roll call) Commissioner DeLanis - Yes Commissioner Herzfeld – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Chairman Reynolds – Yes

Approve minutes from May 29, 2020 meeting (via teleconference)

Motion stated: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to approve the minutes from the May 29, 2020 meeting as presented.

Seconded by: Commissioner Neil

Outcome of motion: Passed Unanimously (Votes taken via roll call) Commissioner DeLanis - Yes

> Commissioner Herzfeld – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Chairman Reynolds – Yes

Page 1 of 2

AOE Report

•Waiting on specific guidance from the Secretary of State's office regarding Judge Lyle's ruling of the "no excuse" Absentee Voting

•Absentee Process – Absentee Department receiving approximately 350 absentee ballot requests and the turnaround time is within 24 – 36 hours.

- •Received 3rd batch of Absentee Ballots
- •67% of poll officials responded with their intent to work the August Election
- •33% of poll officials responded they will not be able to work the August Election
- •Since 3/1/2020, 151 applications have been filed online
- •June 3, 2020 Open enrollment for poll officials who have applied to work online and need to complete their paperwork
- Past 48 hours, thirty-two applicants have submitted paperwork to become poll officials
- •Arts Commission announced the winner of the "I Voted" sticker contest

Public Comment

Debby Gould Roger Schecter Dick Williams

Set date and time for next meeting

Friday, June 12, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. (via teleconference)

<u>Adjourn</u>

With no further election business to discuss, Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to adjourn. Seconded by: Commissioner DeLanis Outcome of motion: Passed Unanimously (Votes taken via roll call) Commissioner DeLanis - Yes

Commissioner DeLanis - Yes Commissioner Herzfeld – Yes Commissioner Neil – Yes Commissioner Starling – Yes Chairman Reynolds – Yes

Tricia Herzfeld, Secretary