Minutes from the Davidson County Election Commission June 9, 2011

The Davidson County Election Commission (DCEC) met at 9:00 a.m. on June 9, 2011 in the Metro Office Building. Commissioners Lynn Greer, Patricia Heim, Steve Abernathy, Eddie Bryan, and A. J. Starling were present. DCEC staff members present included Administrator of Elections (AOE) Albert U. Tieche, Joan Nixon, Lionel Barrett, Nancy Tice, Pat Novotny, Tom Cunningham, Bobby Medley, and Kelley Harrison. Nicki Eke of the Metropolitan Department of Law as also in attendance.

Chairman Lynn Greer convened the meeting.

<u>Approve minutes from May 26, 2011 meeting</u>: Commissioner Heim made a motion to approve minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Starling and passed unanimously.

Discuss minute taking formats: AOE Tieche presented the commission with a minute taking format used by the Secretary of State's office. After reviewing the format, a discussion ensued regarding continuing recording the meeting and how long the recordings should be kept. Nicki Eke was asked to check into the record retention policy and report back to the commission. Commissioner Greer deferred this agenda item pending further information.

Approve Election Day polling locations: Bobby Medley informed the commission that all Election Day poll locations were accounted for with the exception of the Lakewood area. Bobby Medley is awaiting a response from Temple Baptist Church. It was reported that the DCEC currently has 163 Election Day polling locations (84 private and 79 public locations). Commissioner Heim made a motion to approve the precinct lines within the newly drawn council districts. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Starling and the motion passed unanimously. Commissioner Starling made a motion to approve the Election Day polling locations as presented. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bryan wanted the minutes to reflect his displeasure with using Belle Meade City Hall as an Election Day polling location.

<u>Approve Early Voting workers</u>: Commissioner Heim expressed concern with political party balance within the early voting sites. Both Commissioners Greer and Heim suggested more of a balance of workers at Edmondson Pike Library, Metro Office Building and Madison Library. Commissioner Heim made a motion to approve the early voting workers as presented subject to reallocation. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Abernathy and the motion was approved unanimously.

Discuss Michael Hayes, School Board District 8 recall: AOE Tieche informed the commission that on May 24 a group has filed intent to collect signatures to recall Michael Hayes, School Board District 8. The organizing group must collect signatures from 15% of the registered voters from School Board District 8 as it existed at the time that Michael Hayes was elected (not the newly approved lines adopted by Metro Council). AOE Tieche and Nicki Eke acknowledge confusion as to whether the term "registered voters" meant only voters with an "Active" voter status or all voters including those with an "Inactive" voter status in the DCEC voter database. The petition is due not later than

June 23, 2011 (30 days following the date the notice of intent was filed with the Metropolitan Clerk).

<u>Mr. Isaac Okoreeh-Baah update</u>: AOE Tieche informed the commissioners he received a request for a transcript of the May 26, 2011 DCEC meeting. Since only a recording is made as opposed to a full written transcript, he reported that a copy of the audio recording was offered, but the transcript request has since been withdrawn. Mr. Barrett informed the Commissioners that it appears Mr. Okoreeh-Baah has retained legal counsel as he met recently with Mr. Chip Throckmorton about the matter.

Administrator's Reports:

***Compliance with new election legislation**-Voter photo id law will require clarification from the Secretary of State's office via conference calls between now and January 1, 2012. The photo id law is not in effect for the August 4, 2011 election.

***New hires**- There are two (2) new permanent hires in the office- John Rutherford (poll recruiter position) and Mary Meikrantz (early voting/absentee department). There are three (3) temporaries: Larry Huddleston, Erik Lorentson, and Beverly Crabtree.

*Appointment of nursing home deputies, prison deputies, absentee counting board, and provisional counting board-Commissioner Bryan made a motion to approve the Democratic nursing home deputies, prison deputies, absentee counting board and provisional counting board workers. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Starling and the motion passed. Commissioner Heim made a motion to approve the Republican nursing home deputies, prison deputies, absentee counting board and provisional counting board workers with the exception of co-chairs. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Abernathy and the motion passed.

***Approve Ballot**: The Commissioners reviewed the August 4, 2011 election ballot including the charter amendment referendum. Nicki Eke noted there is a conflict between state election law and the provisions of the Metro Charter as it relates to the choices presented to voters (whether to include the words "Yes" and "No" along with other language required by the Metro Charter). Commissioner Bryan made a motion to approve the ballot as presented without the words "Yes" and "No", but to grant authority to add them based on discussions by Metro Legal and State Coordinator of Elections staff. Commissioner Starling seconded the motion and it was approved unanimously.

<u>Set date for next meeting</u>: The next meeting was scheduled for Monday, June 20, 2011 at 9:00 a.m.

Review registration cards: Agenda item deferred.

There being no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned.

(Minutes Continued June 9, 2011)

Lynn Greer, Chairman

A. J. Starling, Secretary

Patricia Heim, Member

Steve Abernathy, Member

Eddie Bryan, Member