# **Davidson County Election Commission**

March 18, 2022 9:00 a.m.

The Davidson County Election Commission (DCEC) met at 9:00 a.m. in the Green Hills Conference Room at Metro Southeast. Commissioners Jim DeLanis, Dan Davis, Tricia Herzfeld, Ross Evans and A. J. Starling were present.

DCEC staff members present included Administrator of Elections (AOE) Jeff Roberts, John Hite, Jeremy Greene, Lisa Pierce, Bobby Medley and Kelley Harrison.

Also present was Macy Amos of the Metropolitan Department of Law and via teleconference was Beth Henry-Robertson, Assistant Coordinator of Elections for Tennessee.

Chairman DeLanis convened the meeting.

#### Approve minutes from March 11, 2022 meeting

**Motion stated**: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to approve the minutes from March 11, 2022 as presented.

**Seconded by**: Commissioner Davis **Outcome of motion**: Passed unanimously

### **Certify Berry Hill Municipal Election**

**Motion stated:** Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to certify the election returns from the March 15, 2022 Berry Hill Municipal Election as presented.

**Seconded by**: Commissioner Starling **Outcome of motion**: Passed unanimously

#### Circuit Court Judge Division VIII candidate Luvell L. Glanton residency challenge

Chairman DeLanis inventoried all submitted exhibits and supporting documents from both the challenger, Judge Kelvin Jones, and candidate, Luvell L. Glanton.

At the recommendation of Chairman DeLanis, the Commission adopted the following procedures. The challenger, Judge Kelvin Jones, was given ten (10) minutes for opening remarks. The candidate, Luvell L. Glanton and his attorney, John Spragens, were also given ten (10) minutes for opening remarks and presentation. Both the challenger and the candidate then presented their proof.

Again, both the challenger and the candidate were given ten (10) minutes for closing remarks. Discussion ensued among the Commission.

**Motion stated**: Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to proceed with adding Luvell L. Glanton to the May 3, 2022 election ballot.

**Seconded by:** Commissioner Starling **Outcome of motion:** Failed with 3 – 2 vote

(Commissioners DeLanis, Davis, Evans – no) (Commissioners Herzfeld and Starling – yes)

# **AOE Report**

Update on re-districting:

- Loading new district information into the database
- Increase in number of voting precincts
- New voter registration cards will be mailed to every voter in Davidson County
- New voter registration card will be yellow

### **Public Comments**

None stated

## Set date and time for next meeting

Call of the Chair

## <u>Adjourn</u>

With no further election matters to discuss, Commissioner Herzfeld made a motion to adjourn.

**Seconded by**: Commissioner Evans **Outcome of motion**: Passed unanimously

\_\_\_\_\_\_Tricia Herzfeld, Secretary