

on April 30, 2028.

ACTION

AGENDA/COMMITTEE REPORT RULES, CONFIRMATIONS, AND PUBLIC ELECTIONS

Thursday, June 15, 2023 5:00 p.m. David Scobey Council Chambers

Members (7) Quorum (4)	P A ()()Murphy, Chair ()()Evans ()()Hancock ()()Lee	()(A) Rosenberg, Vi) Rutherford) Vercher	ice Chair
	ELECTIONS AND	CONFIRMA	TIONS	
1. 23-334				
Stormwater Ma on October 31,	nagement Committee Appointme 2027.	ent of Ms. Brit	tany Simpson fo	r a term expiring
	ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV
2. 23-330				
	ation, Community and Arts Telev m expiring on April 2, 2026.	ision (NECAT) Appointment o	f Mr. Jeremy
	ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV
3. 23-327		ı		

Parks and Recreation Board Reappointment of Ms. Susannah Scott-Barnes for a term expiring

1

AGAINST

NV

FOR

4. 23-324

Planning Commission Appointment of Mr. Matthew Smith for a term expiring on March 31, 2027.

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

5. 23-332

Planning Commission Appointment of Mr. Dennie Marshall for a term expiring on March 31, 2027.

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

6. 23-333

Public Library Board Reappointment of Mr. Robert Oermann for a term expiring on April 6, 2030.

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

NASHVILLE MUSIC, FILM, AND ENTERTAINMENT COMMISSION (NMFEC) APPOINTMENTS AND NOMINEES

7. 23-335

Appointment of Mr. Ken	Levitan for	a term	expiring	on June	20,	2025.
Mayor's Appointee						

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

8. 23-336

Appointment of Mr. Willie Sims for a term expiring on June 20, 2025. *Mayor's Appointee*

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

9. 23-337

Appointment of Ms. Hazel Smith for a term expiring on June 20, 2025. *Mayor's Appointee*

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

10.23-338

Appointment of Ms. Sarah Trahern for a term expiring on June 20, 2025. *Mayor's Appointee*

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

11. 23-339

Appointment of Dave Pomeroy for a term expiring on June 20, 2026. Selected by the American Federation of Musicians (AFM)

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

12. 23-345

Appointment of Peter Kurland for a term expiring on June 20, 2026.

Selected by the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) Also nominated in Industry At-Large category by Max Butler and Darryl Wilson

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

13. 23-346

Appointment of Michael Montgomery for a term expiring on June 20, 2026. Selected by the Screen Actors Guild – American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (SAG-AFTRA)

ACTION FOR AGAINST N'	

NMFEC Nominees Submitted by the Entertainment Industry At-Large for terms expiring on June 20, 2027. (Four vacancies)

14. Annie Aquino

Nominated by Josh Aquino

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

15. Jay DasGupta

Nominated by Joe Nolan

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

16. Meleisha Edwards

Nominated by Max Butler

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

17. Lynn Glaser

Nominated by Julie McReynolds

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

18. Jeff Gordon

Nominated by Chris Conner/Self-nominated

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

19. Tony Harrell

Nominated by Nicole Sherrill

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

20. Mary Harrington

Nominated by Max Butler

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

21. Shannon Houchins

Nominated by Chris Conner

ACTION	FOD	ACAINICT	NIV /
ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

22. Brian Loschiavo

Nominated by Chris Conner

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

23. Sydney Lunn

Nominated by Max Butler

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

24. Trey McClarnon

Nominated by Max Butler

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

25. Gina Miller

Self-nominated

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

26. Travis Nicholson

Nominated by Max Butler

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

27. Trevor O'Neil

Nominated by Margaret Miller

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

28. Sarah Otterstrom

Nominated by Christopher Cates

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

29. Stephanie Reeves

Nominated by Lisa York

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

30. Seth Soloway

Nominated by Eben Cathey

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

31. Tamara Trexler

Nominated by Benita Hill

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

32. William Tyler

Nominated by Max Butler

NMFEC Nominees Submitted by Council Members for terms expiring on June 20, 2024. (Three vacancies)

33. Brian Sexton

Nominated by Councilmember Jeff Syracuse

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

34. Chris Cobb

Nominated by Councilmember Jeff Syracuse

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

35. Shannon Sanders

Nominated by Councilmember Joy Styles

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

36. Sally Williams

Nominated by Councilmember Joy Styles

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

37. Stephanie Silverman

Nominated by Councilmember Ginny Welsch

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

38. Saletta Holloway

Nominated by Councilmember Sharon Hurt

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

39. John Huie

Nominated by Councilmember Robert Swope

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

40. Carey Nelson Burch

Nominated by Councilmember Robert Swope

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

41. Nick Birren

Nominated by Councilmember Robert Swope

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

42.	Garry	W	est/
-----	-------	---	------

Nominated by Councilmember Burkley Allen

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

43. William Lowery

Nominated by Councilmember Burkley Allen

Also nominated in Entertainment Industry At-Large category by Max Butler

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

44. Christopher Capozzoli

Nominated by Councilmember Burkley Allen

Also nominated in Entertainment Industry At-Large category by self-nomination

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

45. Thomas Oliverio

Nominated by Councilmember Jennifer Gamble

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

46. Manuel Delgado (Withdrawn / Removed self from consideration)

Nominated by Councilmember Burkley Allen

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

47. Jerry Pentecost (Not available to attend on June 15 or June 20)

Nominated by Councilmember Jennifer Gamble

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

48. Curt Hahn (Withdrawn / Not Davidson County Resident)

Nominated by Councilmember Robert Swope

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

49. Jason Padgit (No contact info received)

Nominated by Councilmember Joy Styles

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV

PROPOSED RULES OF PROCEDURE CHANGE

50. Proposed amendment to Rule 28 of the Metro Council Rules of Procedure (Murphy)

Mr. President-

I move to amend the 2019-2023 Metropolitan Council Rules of Procedure by amending Rule 28 as shown below:

28. Public addressing Council

The public shall be provided an opportunity to address the Council during a public comment period at the beginning of each regular and special meeting of the Council and of a Council committee. Individuals will be required to provide notice of the desire to participate in the public comment period to the Council Office no later than the Thursday before the meeting. The public comment period for regular and special meetings of the Council shall be limited to twenty (20) minutes. The public comment period for regular and special meetings of Council Committees shall be limited to eight (8) minutes. Individuals shall be allowed to speak for up to two (2) minutes each. Public comment periods will not be held for any meeting where there are no actionable items on the agenda. During the public comment period held at the second regular Council meeting of each month, and at the discretion of the Vice Mayor, individuals shall be allowed to speak for up to two (2) minutes each.

During all other public hearings, individuals shall be allowed to speak for up to two (2) minutes regarding each matter.

Members of the public may address the Council in a public hearing format regarding a specific resolution or ordinance, when a public hearing is not otherwise required by law, if the Council approves a Council member's motion by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the Council members present at such meeting to allow members of the public to address the Council. Such motion shall specify the subsequent meeting at which the public hearing is to take place.

For regular and special meetings of the Council, The Clerk shall keep time in accordance with this rule. For regular and special meetings of Council committees, the Chair shall designate a member of the committee to keep time in accordance with this rule.

ACTION	FOR	AGAINST	NV