

MEETING MINUTES

Metro Arts Commission

Thursday, September 26, 2024, 12:00pm-2:00pm Howard Office Building – Sonny West Conference Room Nashville, TN 37204 <u>Meeting Video</u>

Attendance at Meeting:

Commissioners: Leah Dupree Love (Acting Chair), Janet Kurtz (Vice Chair), Heather Lefkowitz (Secretary), Carol McCoy, Beverly Watts, Dawana Wade, Jessie Rosenblum, Campbell West, Tre Hardin, Arlene Nicholas-Phillips, Shawn Knight, Mayru Yu.

Metro Arts Staff: Interim Director Dr. Paulette Coleman & Vivian Foxx

Guests: Tessa Ortiz-Marsh (Metro Legal)

Not present:

Commissioners Timothy Jester & Evan Brown, & Jilah Kalil

Action Items

- Finalize the date for the upcoming retreat.
- Provide a status update on the grant application process at the next meeting.
- Revamp Google Drive for historical information and resources.

Meeting summary

1. <u>Call to Order:</u> Chair Leah Dupree Love called the meeting to order at 12:07 PM. She noted that a quorum was met, thanking everyone for their patience.

2. Land Acknowledgement

A. Chair Love read the land acknowledgement.

3. <u>Welcome and Introductions:</u> Chair Love welcomed all attendees and introduced two new commissioners:



A. Commissioner Shawn Knight

4. Public Comment:

- No Public Comments

5. <u>Approval of Minutes:</u> The minutes from the August 15, 2024, meeting minutes were reviewed. Commissioner Dawana Wade moved to approve the minutes with this change, and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Beverly Watts. The minutes were unanimously approved.

7. Nominating Committee Report Slate:

-Presenter: Commissioner Dawana Wade

- -Slate of Officers:
- -Chair: Commissioner Campbell West
- -Vice Chair: Commissioner Tre Hardin
- -Secretary: Commissioner Heather Lefkowitz
- Acknowledgment of Acting Chair Leah Dupree Love and Vice Chair Janet Kurtz for their
- leadership and new Commissioner Shawn Knight for joining the commission.
- No question or discussions were presented.

Election of Officers:

Chair:

- No further nominations were made.
- -Motion to close nominations:
- Moved by: Commissioner Beverly Watts
- Seconded by: Commissioner Dawana Wade
- Outcome: Motion passed.

Vice Chair:

- No further nominations.
- Motion to close nominations:
- Moved by: Commissioner Shawn Knight
- Seconded by: Commissioner Jessie Rosenblum
- Outcome: Motion passed.



Secretary:

- No further nominations.
- Motion to close nominations:
- Moved by: Commissioner Janet Kurtz
- Seconded by: Commissioner Shawn Knight
- Outcome: Motion passed.

Voting on Slate of Officers

- Motion to approve the full slate of officers:
- Moved by: Commissioner Beverly Watts
- -Seconded by: Commissioner Janet Kurtz
- -*Outcome: Motion passed with no opposition.

Remarks from Newly Elected Chair

- Chair Campbell West expressed gratitude and eagerness to serve, emphasizing community engagement and collaboration.

8. Old Business/New Business

- Commissioner Lefkowitz mentioned revamping the Google Drive for historical information and resources.
- Dr. Coleman updated that a date for the upcoming retreat will be scheduled, requiring full participation.
- Commissioner McCoy requested a status update on the grant application process and was informed that will be discussed at the next regular scheduled meeting.

9. Announcements

• The next meeting is scheduled for October 17th, where committees will report.

10. Adjournment

• Motion to adjourn by Commissioner Leah Dupree Love. Moved by: Commissioner Jessie Rosenblum