Skip to Content

Civil Service Commission Information

Metro Seal

The Civil Service Commission consists of 5 members who have an interest in civil service and merit principles in the public service, and who serve without compensation. No member of the commission shall hold any public office or position nor be a member of any local, state or national political committee.

The members of the commission are appointed by the mayor and shall be confirmed by a two-thirds vote of the whole membership of the council. Appointments shall be for terms of five (5) years, except that when a vacancy occurs prior to the end of a term, the member appointed to fill the same shall hold under such appointment only for the unexpired term. One member of the commission shall be a person actively engaged in the practice of law, one shall be a representative of business or industry, one shall be a representative of labor, and the remaining members shall be chosen without reference to profession or occupation.

In addition it shall be the duty of the Civil Service Commission to:

(a) Advise with and supervise the Director of Human Resources in all continuing improvements of personnel standards and administration in the Metropolitan government.

(b) Make any investigation or study it may deem desirable concerning the organization and administration of personnel in the Metropolitan government.

(c) Review, approve, revise or modify any action taken by the Director of Human Resources

(d) Make annual reports and such special reports as it may consider desirable to the mayor and council.

(e) Upon request of an affected employee, review suspensions, demotions or separation from service of any employee in classified service, and to render decisions thereon, subject to its rules.

Metro Holidays

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King Day
  • President's Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day

Civil Service Commission Contact

Civil Service Commission inquiries should be sent to:

Shannon Hall
404 James Robertson Parkway Suite 1000
Nashville, TN. 37219